

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, June 2, 2025 CONTACT: Christopher Behnan, Byrum & Fisk Advocacy Communications, (248) 767-4377

Holly Area Schools staff honored for commitment to excellence, success of all Bronchos

Annual STAR Awards highlight efforts to create safe, welcoming environment where students can thrive

HOLLY, Mich. — Holly Area Schools staff were recently recognized for their commitment to preparing all Bronchos for success and helping make the district a safe, welcoming learning environment for students, staff and families.

The Holly Area Schools Board of Education announced the **STAR Awards** at their May 5 meeting following a reception for the recipients and their families that included appetizers, refreshments and photos. STAR stands for "show of thankfulness, appreciation and respect."

"I want to congratulate all our amazing honorees for this well-deserved recognition and for their ongoing dedication to helping our Bronchos learn, grow and thrive," said Superintendent **Scott Roper**. "Each one of these valued members of our team plays a fundamental role in preparing our students for bright futures and the in-demand careers of today and tomorrow."

At the ceremony, department and building leaders gave presentations on the contributions of each award recipient to the Broncho school community. STAR Award recipients for the 2024-2025 school year include:

Outstanding support staff awards went to:

- Sierra Kitterman, custodial and maintenance
- Laura Oldaugh, administrative assistant
- Kaidynn Lang, early childhood
- Beth Bezemek, paraeducator
- Samantha Sanner, food service

• Lorena Doshen, transportation

American Legion Teacher of the Year awards went to:

- Hans Kivari, Holly High School
- Stephanie Raymoure, Holly Elementary
- Susan Stefanko, Holly Middle School
- Elisa Moultrie, Patterson Elementary
- Andrea (Andi) Swalwell, Davisburg Elementary
- Jennifer Kittle, Rose Pioneer Elementary

Recipients of the Oakland County Teacher of the Year Award include:

- Hans Kivari, Holly High School
- Susan Stefanko, Holly Middle School
- Elisa Moultrie, Patterson Elementary

Additional recognitions included:

- Lisa Stubbert, Holly Elementary, was named MEA Region 7 Outstanding Education Support Professional of the Year.
- **Marcy Harris**, Holly High School, was named Outstanding Person in Education by the Holly Education Association.
- Jennifer Fettig, director of career programming and business partnerships, was named Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Outstanding Administrator of the Year.
- **Casey Lombard**, athletic director, was named Region 9 Athletic Administrator of the Year by the Michigan Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (MIAAA) and recognized as a Certified Master Athletic Administrator by the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).

Roper gave special thanks to **Shannon Fredell**, **Madison Spring** and **Amber Benedict** from the district's central office for planning the event, and to food services leaders **Tom Baranoucky** and **Mary Robb** for preparing appetizers and refreshments.

"At Holly Area Schools, we cherish our outstanding staff who are committed to helping our students succeed before, during and after school," Roper said. "I'd like to thank everyone who made this year's event possible, and we look forward to recognizing more of our exemplary staff in the years to come."

###

Learn more about Holly Area Schools by visiting <u>www.hask12.org</u>, or visit us on <u>Facebook</u>.



Holly Area Schools 2024-2025 STAR Award recipients. Top row, left to right: Casey Lombard, Jennifer Fettig, Beth Bezemek, Laura Oldaugh, Lorena Doshen, Susan Stephanko, Andrea Swalwell, Sierra Kitterman, Hans Kivari, Marcy Harris. Front row, left to right: Lisa Stubbert, Samantha Sanner, Kaidynn Lang, Elisa Moultrie, Jennifer Kittle and Stephanie Raymoure.